Mont Soleil

Cheese, Semi-hard cheese
Bestellen

ab CHF 5.00

Clear

Mont Soleil is the name of a distinctive hilltop right above our town of Saint-Imier. It is not only sunny there, but also very windy – with happy cows.

Origin

For years, there has been a solar energy plant and a large wind park on Saint-Imier’s local mountain. But the cows who spend a happy life there couldn’t care less. They eat juicy herbs and delicious flowers in summer and tasty hay in winter. The farmers who work here understand their craft and take care of nature.

Manufacturing

Our house speciality benefits from the raw mountain milk of natural plants sourced from our immediate surroundings. After being pressed in 36cm Ø moulds, each cheese is lovingly looked after by hand for 14 days, then left to mature for four months in our cellars, regularly washed and kept at constant temperature and humidity levels.

The cheese

Mont Soleil is a semi-soft cheese. Its rind is a light reddish brown. The paste has sparsely dotted holes of up to 6 mm Ø. The pure, aromatic, fruity-flowery and sometimes almost sweet flavour of Mont Soleil is a clear reminder of its sunny origins.

Mont Soleil

Fromage, Fromage à pâte mi-dure
Bestellen

ab CHF 5.00

Effacer

Le Mont Soleil est le nom d’un sommet impressionnant au-dessus de Saint-Imier, notre région. C’est un lieu ensoleillé, ou le vent souffle fort et les vaches sont heureuses.

Origine

Sur la montagne locale de Saint-Imier, se situent, depuis des années, un centre photovoltaïque expérimental ainsi qu’un parc éolien. Pourtant, les vaches qui vivent là paisiblement n’ont que faire de ces installations. En été, elles profitent de l’herbe fraîche et des fleurs alléchantes, en hiver de l’excellent foin. Les paysans qui travaillent ici aiment leur métier et prennent soin de la nature.

Fabrication

Notre spécialité maison tire profit de la flore naturelle et du lait de montagne frais local. Après avoir été pressée dans des moules de 36 cm de diamètre, chaque meule est soigneusement traitée à la main avant une maturation de 4 mois dans notre cave, à température et taux d’humidité constants et avec un lavage régulier.

Le fromage

Le Mont Soleil est un fromage à pâte mi-dure. Sa croûte est d’un brun-rougeâtre. Les trous dans la pâte sont plutôt épars et mesurent jusqu’à 6 mm. Le goût pur et aromatique, fruité et floral, parfois presque doux du Mont Soleil rappelle inéluctablement ses origines baignées par le soleil.