Gruyère AOP

Cheese, Hard cheese
Bestellen

ab CHF 4.00

Clear

The flavour of Switzerland since 1115, as the advertisement for Gruyère puts it. And it’s not far wrong!

Origins of the name

A document dating back to 1115 confirms that cheese was already being produced at this time in the region and in the village of Gruyères in the canton of Fribourg. Nobody actually knows how it tasted but the Count of Gruyères found it good enough to send a few of the cheeses to the Abbey of Rougemont…

The region’s reputation was established later: medieval records tell of the skill of its inhabitants who turned their cows’ milk into full-fat cheese which was sold as far away as France and Italy.

In 1602, we find the second documentary mention of a gift of cheese from the region: the government of Fribourg presented diplomats at the French embassy with 14 cheeses which are already called Gruyère. Over time, measures were taken to protect the origin of the cheese with stamps and markings. The word “Gruyère” was accepted into the dictionary of the Académie française in 1762.

Extension of the production region

Substantial emigration from Fribourg in the 18th and 19th centuries extended the production region of Gruyère to the cantons of Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura and even to France. Gruyère was only provided with a controlled indication of origin (AOC) at the international level in 2001 and since 2011 it has benefited from an AOP protected indication of origin for all of Europe. Le Gruyère AOP may only be produced in the cantons of Fribourg, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura, in the districts of Courtelary, Moutier and La Neuveville as well as in a few neighbouring Bernese municipalities. An exception is also made for historical reasons for a couple of cheese dairies in German-speaking Switzerland.

The cheese

Le Gruyère is a hard cheese. Its paste has a smooth surface which feels slightly moist. It is tender, quite firm, a bit crumbly and ivory-coloured, depending on the season. The fruity flavours can vary according to the origin and this is emphasised further by the greater or lesser salty base notes. The salé version is particularly tart.

Gruyère AOP

Fromage, Fromage à pâte dure
Bestellen

ab CHF 4.00

Effacer

«Le goût des Suisses depuis 1115» : voilà le slogan de la publicité pour le Gruyère. Et il n’est pas mensonger…/h2>

Origine de la dénomination

Un document de 1115 atteste qu’à cette époque on fabriquait déjà du fromage dans la région du village fribourgeois de Gruyères. Aujourd’hui, il n’y a pas moyen de savoir quel goût il avait…; cependant, le comte de Gruyères le trouvait assez bon pour en offrir quelques meules à l’Abbaye de Rougemont.

La réputation fromagère de cette région s’est construite peu à peu: les chroniques médiévales relatent le savoir-faire de ses habitants, qui transformaient le lait de leurs troupeaux en fromage gras qui se vendait jusqu’en Italie et en France.

En 1602, un document certifie à nouveau un don de fromages de la région : le gouvernement de Fribourg offrit aux délégués de l’Ambassade française 14 meules de ce qui se nommait déjà Gruyère. Au fil des ans, des mesures ont été prises pour protéger l’origine du fromage avec un tampon et des marquages. En 1762, le mot «gruyère» a fait son entrée dans le dictionnaire de l’Académie française.

Extensions géographiques

Pendant la forte émigration qui toucha Fribourg aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, les régions de fabrication du Gruyère furent étendues aux cantons de Vaud, de Neuchâtel, du Jura et même à la France voisine. Ce n’est qu’en 2001 que le Gruyère est devenu international grâce à une Appellation d’origine contrôlée (AOC); depuis 2011 il détient une Appellation d’origine protégée (AOP) dans toute l’Europe. La production de Gruyère AOP n’est permise que dans les cantons de Fribourg, de Vaud, de Neuchâtel et du Jura, dans les districts de Courtelary, de Moutier et de la Neuveville ainsi que dans quelques communes bernoises avoisinantes. Une exception est néanmoins faite, pour des raisons historiques, pour une poignée de fromageries en Suisse alémanique.

Le fromage

Le gruyère est un fromage à pâte dure. Sa pâte a une surface fine, légèrement humide au toucher. Il s’agit d’un fromage relativement dur, mais tendre, peu friable et de couleur ivoire variant selon les saisons. Les arômes fruités varient selon l’origine et sont relevés par une note plus ou moins salée. Le Gruyère salé est particulièrement corsé.